Skip to main content
Thursday, September 14, 2017

From the President

Posted: Thursday, September 14, 2017

Committee on Undergraduate Retention

I am pleased to announce the following appointments to the 2017–2018 Committee on Undergraduate Retention:

Chair: Mark Severson, Dean, School of Natural and Social Sciences

Maria Brickhouse, Coordinator, Academic Center for Excellence, Educational Opportunity Program
Anthony Chase, Assistant Dean, School of Arts and Humanities
Connie Cooke, Director, Financial Aid
John Draeger, Associate Professor, Philosophy; Director, Teaching and Learning Center
Brian Dubenion, Interim Director, Student Life
Bradley Fuster, Associate Vice President, Institutional Effectiveness
Yves Gachette, Director, Institutional Research
Dwight Hennessy, Professor, Psychology
Jevon Hunter, Woods-Beals Endowed Chair, School of Education
Kimberly Kline, Chair and Professor, Higher Education Administration
Heather Maldonado, Assistant Provost, Academic Success
Amy McMillan, Associate Professor, Biology
John Siskar, Senior Adviser for Educational Pipeline Initiatives, Center for Excellence in Urban and Rural Education
Gregory Wadsworth, Associate Professor, Biology
Aimee Woznick, Director, Academic Commons
Susan Wright, Director, Student Accounts

Ex Officio: Daniel Vélez, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs
Ex Officio: Melanie Perreault, Provost

The Committee on Undergraduate Retention provides recommendations to increase the persistence, retention, and graduation rates of undergraduate students.

The committee’s charge is as follows:

  1. Review, gather, and interpret information from other institutions or external programs that can illuminate these concerns.
  2. Investigate and review best practices that currently exist on the Buffalo State campus.
  3. Review Buffalo State current information and quantitative data available related to this issue.
  4. Gather new information or survey portions of the campus community to provide insight into this issue.
  5. Develop recommendations that are relevant to all or selected portions of the campus student community.
  6. Make recommendations on short-term and long-term goals related to higher persistence, retention, and graduation rates.
  7. Submit proposals that address retention needs to the President’s Cabinet.
  8. Report at the end of each semester (orally and in writing) on the state of undergraduate persistence, retention, and graduate rates and the impact of current or new programs to address these issues.
  9. Advise the cabinet on the continuation, development, or elimination of programs that affect persistence, retention, and graduation rates.