Skip to main content

Tuesday, May 16, 2023

Today's Message

Posted: Tuesday, May 16, 2023

Celebration of Community Engagement Award Recipients

Please help us congratulate our 2022–2023 Celebration of Community Engagement Award recipients! We are pleased to honor the students, faculty, staff, and community partners who make a difference through civic and community engagement initiatives.

Thank you to Jesse Steffan-Colucci, Buffalo State photographer, for capturing beautiful images of the celebration, which can be viewed on the Photography Services website. We also wish to thank the members of this year’s Celebration of Community Engagement Award Review Committee.

The Frederick Howe Outstanding Student Volunteer
Lila Balali, Graduate Student, Public Administration

Outstanding Community Service by a Student Organization
Buffalo State Psychology Club
Students: Olivia Bell, Lindsay Prout, Victoria Sassa, Adrianus Wutz
Adviser: Naomi McKay, Associate Professor, Psychology

Outstanding Service-Learning Student
Emily Ersing, Senior, Business Administration

Outstanding Undergraduate Service-Learning Course
MUS 119 Vocal Pedagogy
Students: Anthony Choops, Gabriella Colton, Jonathan Golba, Lexus Hale, Cameron Juzdowski, Julia Kuk, Trinity Ridout, Keith Vantino, Alexa Wery
Faculty: Holly Bewlay, Professor, Music
Partner: Positive Youth of Tomorrow Inc.

Outstanding Graduate Service-Learning Course
COM 650 Public Relations Management
Students: Esmeralda Cordero, Cassandra Genua, Angelica Gonzalez, Nicholas Lozanovski, Carli Marsh, Malaiya McGee, Tara Palmer, Sabrina Ragonese
Faculty: Deborah Silverman, Chair and Associate Professor, Communication
Partners: Niagara Frontier Radio Reading Service, ONE8FIFTY: Partners in Transplant, Saving Grace Outreach

Reciprocal Partnership Award
Stephen Monaco, Vice President, Buffalo Broadcasters Association
Rick Karnath, Lecturer, Communication
Ellen Notarius, Lecturer, Communication

Outstanding Community Partner
Wegmans on Amherst Street
Amy Pastore, Buffalo Division Employee Communications Partner, Wegmans

Early Career Faculty Award for Community Engagement
Crystal Elias, Lecturer, Elementary Education, Literacy, and Educational Leadership

Mid-Career Faculty Award for Community Engagement
S. Marlon Gayadeen, Associate Professor, Criminal Justice

Leadership in Community Engagement
Wendy Paterson, Dean, School of Education

Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellowship
2022 Fellow: Iaya Mohamed, Senior, Health and Wellness
2023 Fellow: Jacob Fleming Sr., Junior, Media Production
2023 Fellow Local Leadership Mentor: Greg Garrett Jr., Public Information Officer, Mayor Brown’s Office of Communications

President’s Certificate of Recognition for Community Engagement
Community Supporter - 200 Hours of Service: Cassandra Carter
Neighborhood Advocate - 400 Hours of Service: Elexa Printup, Ke Shi
Active Citizen - 1,000 Hours of Service: Lila Balali, Sonia Swann, Jeffrey Thomas

Award Review Committee
Annemarie Franczyk, Associate Professor, Communication
Ava LaBella, AmeriCorps VISTA, Civic and Community Engagement
Mariko Price, BUMP Intern and Youth Supervisor, 5 Loaves Farm
Desiray Slaughter, Graduate Student, Higher Education and Student Affairs Administration
Alice Villaseñor, Associate Director, Civic and Community Engagement

Submitted by: Alice M. Villasenor