Skip to main content

Saturday, November 27, 2021


From the Chief Diversity Officer

Posted: Friday, January 22, 2021

Social Justice Subcommittee of the President's Council on Equity and Campus Diversity

Late last year, the provost and I put out a call for volunteers to serve on the Social Justice Subcommittee of the President's Equity and Campus Diversity Council. This subcommittee would continue the great work of what was called the Social Justice Taskforce under the leadership of SUNY Distinguished Service Professor Drew Kahn and Professor John Cabra.

The response was, quite frankly, overwhelming, and the provost and I are excited to know that so many people from the campus community wanted to take part in this important work. While we could not accept everyone who applied to serve on this subcommittee, we have kept the names of those who initially expressed interest and will be reaching out as opportunities are presented.

It is with great excitement that I present to you the members of the Social Justice Subcommittee. Please join me in congratulating and supporting them in this great endeavor.

Co-chair: Yanick Jenkins, Director, Educational Opportunity Program
Co-chair: Laura Hill Rao, Director, Civic and Community Engagement Office

Naila Ansari, Assistant Professor, Theater Department
Sherrie Bernat, Nurse Practitioner, Weigel Wellness Center
Kerry Brogan, Instructional Support Technician, Information Technology Services
Maria Brzykcy, Office Assistant 1 (Keyboarding), Admissions Office
John Cabra, Professor, International Center for Studies in Creativity
Carol DeNysschen, Chair and Professor, Health, Nutrition, and Dietetics Department
Kristin Fields, Director, Continuing Professional Studies
Frances Gage, Associate Professor, Art and Design Department
James Golden, Assistant Professor, Social Work Department
Judith Harris, Lecturer, Exceptional Education Department
Michael Heflin, Assistant Dean of Inclusion and Equity, Dean of Students Office
Melissa Holland, Director of International Education, Global Engagement
Jonathan Hulbert, Director of Leadership and Organizational Development, Professional Development Center
Drew Kahn, SUNY Distinguished Service Professor, Theater Department; Director, Anne Frank Project
Jason Knight, Associate Professor, Geography and Planning Department
Eric “Luke” Krieg, Professor, Sociology Department
John Mack, Assistant Clinical Manager, Weigel Wellness Center
Terri Massenberg, Complex Director, Residence Life Office
Mark Norris, Associate Director of Web Administration and Editor, Marketing and Communications Office
Alice Pennisi, Associate Professor, Art and Design Department
Tristin Salter, Academic Coordinator, Continuing Professional Studies
Joshua Scarbrough, Complex Director, Residence Life Office
Vida Vanchan, Associate Professor, Geography and Planning Department
Marcus Watson, Assistant Professor, Individualized Studies
Amy Wilson, Chair and Associate Professor, Higher Education Administration Department
Agnieszka Zak-Moskal, Title III Activity Director, Institutional Effectiveness and Planning Office