Skip to main content

Monday, November 23, 2020

From the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Posted: Monday, November 23, 2020

Middle States Self-Study Steering Committee Formed

Buffalo State College has initiated a comprehensive, collegewide self-study process according to the requirements of the college’s regional accrediting body, the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE). The self-study process is valuable to an institution, allowing it an opportunity to demonstrate that it meets the expectations of the MSCHE and to gain insights that will serve the institution for future years. The process demonstrates our commitment to continuous improvement and will be used to strengthen and sustain our future as an institution of higher education. Through an inclusive process, we will engage in a careful analysis of institutional priorities that will be selected in the interest of identifying mission-related areas of improvement.

The Self-Study Steering Committee will work with groups and individuals across campus throughout the process to gather information, discuss campus work that addresses standards, and share draft materials as the self-study evolves. Doing so will allow us to respond effectively to challenges, identify and adopt innovative practices to more readily achieve our mission, adapt to changes in higher education, and best serve our students and community.

I am pleased to announce that the following faculty and staff members will serve on the Self-Study Steering Committee:

Co-chair: Kimberly A. Kline, Professor, Higher Education Administration
Co-chair: Margaret “Marnie” T. Letzelter, Executive Assistant to the Dean of the Graduate School

Laura J. Barnum, Vice President for Finance and Management
William J. Benfanti, Associate Vice President for Government Relations
Curtis L. Brickhouse, Director of Student Affairs Operations
Janelle A. Brooks, Assistant Dean of Student Conduct and Community Standards
Robert R. Delprino, Assistant Dean of the School of Natural and Social Sciences
Brenda Durfee, Senior Staff Assistant, Finance and Management
Shashi M. Gayadeen, Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Jonathan D. Hulbert, Director of Leadership and Organizational Development, Professional Development Center
Jevon D. Hunter, Woods-Beals Endowed Chair, School of Education
Eric J. “Luke” Krieg, Interim Associate Vice President, Institutional Effectiveness Office
David P. Loreto, Director of Admissions
Heather D. Maldonado, Assistant Provost for Academic Success
Nigel R. Marriner, Registrar
Jazmene Moseley, Alumna
Kristen E. Mruk, Associate Director of Student Leadership and Engagement
Nancy B. Paschke, Editorial Director, Marketing and Communications Office
Crystal J. Rodriguez-Dabney, Chief of Staff and Chief Diversity Officer, President’s Office
Bhakti Sharma, Associate Professor of Art and Design; Chair of the College Senate
Natalie A. Szymanski, Assistant Professor of English; Director of the College Writing Program
Amitra A. Wall, Associate Provost, Academic Affairs

Self-Study Timeline

  • September 29–November 10, 2020
    Self-Study Institute Attendance
  • November 2020
    Self-Study Steering Committee Appointed
    Self-Study Working Groups Developed and Members Selected
  • January 2021
    Zoom with VP Liaison
  • Spring 2021
    Steering Committee Writes Self-Study Design
    Self-Study Preparation Visit
    VP Liaison Accepts Self-Study Design
  • Spring 2022
    Self-Study Draft Shared with Campus Community
  • August 2022
    Final Self-Study Report Due
  • Fall 2022
    Evaluation Team Chair’s Preliminary Visit
  • Spring 2023
    Evaluation Team Visit
  • May 2023
    Commission Meeting
  • June 2023
    Commission Action

I thank those who are serving on the committee for their work on this important task. More information will be forthcoming.